Banks that let the diaspora invest from where they live
Roughly $95–100 billion flows into Africa every year as remittances — and most of it is spent, not invested. This report ranks the top 10 African remittance-receiving countries — Egypt, Nigeria, Morocco, Kenya, Ghana, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Tunisia, Algeria and DR Congo — and scores 12 diaspora banking programmes, three government bond programmes, and four licensed brokerage apps, against three questions: can you actually open it without flying home, can you invest and take your money out in the currency you earn in, and is the institution one people actually trust?
Section 01Executive Summary
Conducive. Invest where you are. Well trusted. No single bank in this study wins on all three.
Diaspora banking programmes exist to close a specific gap: they let someone abroad keep an account, earn interest, and buy bonds, unit trusts or shares in their home country's currency and market — without flying back every time they want to move money or make a deposit. We reviewed 12 major diaspora banking programmes in Kenya, Nigeria, Ghana, and pan-African/Southern African groups, three sovereign bond programmes open to non-residents, and four SEC/FSCA-licensed brokerage apps, and scored every one against three questions:
Every fact in this report carries a source link back to a bank's own page, a regulator, a stock exchange filing, or a dated Trustpilot/Google Play listing. Where a bank's own site did not state something, it is marked n.a. rather than guessed — and we re-checked a sample of the highest-stakes claims (licensing status, headline asset figures, bond rates) against primary sources before publishing.
Kenyan banks and the Stanbic/Standard Bank group name the widest range of buyable investment products. Seven of twelve programmes are genuinely remote end-to-end; five still require a notary, a courier, or a branch visit. And across nearly every bank with both scores, Google Play ratings (2.7–4.7 out of 5) sit far above Trustpilot ratings (1.6–2.4) for the same institution — the technology is usually fine, the cross-border service experience is where trust breaks down. Match your choice to your own biggest constraint — remoteness, product breadth, or trust — rather than hunting for one bank that wins on everything.
Section 02The Headline Picture
Three numbers to hold onto before the bank-by-bank detail.
Methodology: a category counts only if a bank's own page, comparison table entry, or regulator filing explicitly names a product in it (same "n.a. unless documented" discipline used throughout this report). This is our own re-scoring against primary sources, not a reprint of any single reference chart — on re-checking, some banks in earlier drafts were credited with categories (money-market funds, pensions) that their own diaspora pages don't actually name, so those were removed here.
Seven of the twelve programmes publish an end-to-end online application; the other five keep at least one in-person step — a notary, an embassy/VFS visit, a courier of original documents, or a physical deposit "when in [home country]."
- ✓
Co-operative Bank Kenya
Fully online, in five currencies — "Open Account Online... from anywhere in the world."
- ✓
Absa (Kenya / Ghana)
Onboarding "within minutes" by mobile, no need to travel back home.
- ✓
Stanbic/Standard Bank (KE / SA)
"Open an account online in 5 minutes" (Kenya); "apply from anywhere in the world" (South Africa).
- ✓
UBA
Fully online at aop.ubagroup.com, open to Nigerians/Africans 18+.
- ✓
Zenith Bank
Online application, plus free BVN enrolment at Zenith's own offices abroad.
- ✓
Ecobank
Online account-opening portal (aop.ecobank.com) spanning multiple countries.
- ✓
Equity Bank
Diaspora channel confirmed online; exact document checklist not published.
- P
KCB Bank
Online, but documents must be notarised by a public notary, Kenyan embassy official, or KCB agent abroad first.
- P
Access Bank
Remote BVN plus liveness check, but notarised originals must still be couriered to Lagos.
- P
GTBank
Remote NRBVN registration, but the bank's own FAQ still requires an OIS/VFS centre visit.
- P
GCB Bank Ghana (Link2Home)
Online category exists, but the account is "opened with an initial deposit (when in Ghana)," with a 14-day funding deadline.
- P
Fidelity Bank Ghana (NRG)
Mobile-money registration is possible remotely, but cash funding and unit-trust onboarding both require a branch visit.
Google Play scores and review counts, and Trustpilot scores and review counts, for each bank are cited individually in the sections and comparison table below.
Section 03Kenya — the Most Investment-Complete Diaspora Banking
Kenyan banks consistently name specific, buyable investment products for diaspora customers rather than vague "investment-purpose" accounts — the strongest cluster in this study.
Stanbic Bank Kenya
Widest menuThe single widest diaspora investment menu found anywhere in this study: government securities (bonds), money-market funds, fixed-income dollar funds, NSE local equities, and mortgages including equity release — all named explicitly. "Open an account online in 5 minutes," minimum opening Ksh 1,000.
Min. investmentKsh 1,000
RegulatorCentral Bank of Kenya
Co-operative Bank of Kenya
Broadest productsFully online account opening in five currencies (KES, USD, GBP, EUR, CAD). Broadest documented product set of any Kenyan bank: Treasury bond auction bidding, Treasury bills, NSE share trading via Kingdom Securities, custody/registrar services, and a property hub for diaspora land/home purchases. Over 22,000 diaspora customers already, KSh 827.4bn in total assets.
Min. investmentKES 5,000 / USD 50
Watch forRetail app rated 2.8★ (6,010 reviews)
Equity Bank
Best-rated appLets diaspora clients trade Nairobi Securities Exchange shares directly, plus Treasury Bills and Bonds, through a dedicated investment channel. Best-attended app score in this whole study: 4.8★ from 345,000 Google Play reviews. KES 1.97 trillion in total assets, NSE- and Uganda-listed.
Min. investmentNot published
Watch for"Diaspora investments" URL currently 404s
KCB Bank Kenya
Largest networkTreasury Bills and Bonds via KCB Investment Bank, fixed/call/dual-currency deposits, and a diaspora-specific "Goal Account" paying up to 8.5% p.a. Largest branch network among Kenyan banks (458 branches), Ksh 2.3 trillion in assets.
Min. investmentKes 1,000–2,000
Watch forMobile banking app "not available to Diaspora customers" per KCB's own FAQ
Absa Kenya / Diaspora Connect (Ghana)
Lowest entry pointThe lowest investment entry point found anywhere in this study: Absa Unit Trust Funds from "as little as KES 1,000 or USD 100," plus 9% p.a. digital savings. Onboarding is genuinely fast — "within minutes" by mobile, no travel required.
Min. investmentKES 1,000 / USD 100
Watch forNo named bond/brokerage product; Play 2.7★ (1.36K); Trustpilot 2/5 (13 reviews)
Section 04Nigeria — Strong Scale, Wider Service-Trust Gap
Nigerian banks have the largest balance sheets in this study, but they also cluster at the bottom of Trustpilot scores (1.6–2.4 out of 5) even where their apps are well rated. Most stop at domiciliary accounts "for investment purposes" without naming a specific instrument.
UBA — Diaspora Banking / NRNIA
Widest NG menuZero minimum opening balance, fully online at aop.ubagroup.com. The Non-Resident Nigerian Investment Account bundles FCY/LCY investment opportunities with real estate (via Afriland Properties), pensions (via PenCom), and wealth management (via United Capital) — the broadest non-Kenyan menu in the study. ₦33.17trn in total assets, NGX-listed, CBN-supervised.
Min. investmentNone stated
Watch forTrustpilot 1.7/5 (65); confusingly, UBA's own US entity says it "does not provide Diaspora Banking Services"
Zenith Bank
Free BVN abroadFree BVN enrolment at Zenith's own offices abroad avoids paid third-party VFS/OIS appointments. Non-Residents Ordinary & Investment Account plus interest-paying FCY fixed deposits. ₦31.4trn in assets, NGX-listed.
Min. investment₦100,000+ (CD/STIF ₦5m)
Watch forTrustpilot 1.9/5 (55)
Access Bank
Best NG appBest-rated app in the Nigerian group by far: 4.7★ from 741,000 Google Play reviews. Remote FX-purchase requests and BVN enrolment with a liveness check. ₦51.56trn in total assets — the largest balance sheet in this study.
Min. investment₦10,000
Watch forTrustpilot 2.4/5 (61); no named securities/bond product
GTBank — NRN Service
Weakest scoreMarkets itself directly at this need, with a Non-Resident BVN route requiring no physical presence to start. But the bank's own FAQ still requires enrolling and updating records "by visiting any of the appointed OIS or VFS Centres" — a real in-person step.
Min. investmentNot stated
Watch forTrustpilot 1.6/5 "Bad" (48); no named investment products beyond domiciliary accounts
Section 05Ghana — Cheapest Entry Point, but Branch Steps Remain
Fidelity Bank Ghana — NRG Account
Cheapest & best appThe cheapest way into a diaspora investment product found anywhere in this study: unit trusts from GH¢10, and a "FLIP" account tracking the prevailing T-bill rate. Best-rated app in this entire study: 4.8★ from 17,400 Google Play reviews, alongside a 7.09% non-performing-loan ratio versus an 18.9% industry average.
Min. investmentGH¢10 (unit trust)
Watch forUnit-trust redemptions pay out only in Ghana Cedis at the Board Rate — no hard-currency exit
GCB Bank Ghana — Link2Home
Largest, listedFour-currency account (GHS/USD/GBP/EUR) with a dedicated online "Non-Resident Ghanaian" application category. Bank of Ghana-supervised, GHS 52.6bn in assets, Ghana Stock Exchange-listed since 1996.
Min. investmentNot stated
Watch forNo diaspora-specific investment product beyond generic government bonds
Section 06Pan-African and Southern African Groups
Ecobank — Diaspora Account
Widest footprintOne account works across an unmatched footprint — 35 African countries, 650 branches, $27.2bn in total assets, and a European subsidiary approved by France's ACPR. Fully online account-opening portal covering multiple countries.
Investment productsNone documented — transactional account only
Watch forLowest Trustpilot score in this entire study, 1.6/5 (46 reviews)
Standard Bank / Stanbic Group (SA)
Largest balance sheetR3.6 trillion in assets, 1,200+ branches, 19.6 million clients, JSE/A2X/Namibian-listed — the largest, best-capitalised institution in this study. Its South African non-resident account can be applied for "from anywhere in the world" with certified passport, proof of address, and offshore bank statements, offering share custody plus a property loan up to 50% of value.
Investment productsShare custody, property loans
Watch forOne Trustpilot reviewer reports "3+ months" to open a non-resident account
Section 07The Top 10 Remittance-Sending Countries, Ranked
Everything above was organised bank-first. This section flips the lens to country-first: the ten African countries that receive the largest dollar volume of remittances each year, ranked by that volume, with the diaspora banking option, the best documented return, and how remotely it can really be managed. Kenya, Nigeria and Ghana are covered in full in Section 04, Section 03 and Section 05 above; the other seven — Egypt, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Tunisia, Algeria and DR Congo — are researched fresh here, to the same "no source, no claim" standard as the rest of this report.
The rank order below uses a single consistent cross-country source (2024 figures) so all ten countries are measured the same way. Two countries have since published notably different numbers from their own central banks: Egypt's central bank reports $37.5–41.5bn for 2025 — far above the $22.7bn cross-country figure — and Senegal's BCEAO reports $3.69bn for 2024 against the $2.94bn cross-country figure. Both are cited in their country entries below. Remittance statistics vary by measurement methodology (formal-channel-only vs. total, calendar vs. fiscal year); treat the rank order as directionally right, not to the decimal.
| Rank | Country | Remittances (2024) | Top diaspora option | Remote opening | Best documented return | Manage from anywhere? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Egypt | $22.7bn (CBE: $37.5–41.5bn, 2025) | Banque Misr “Belady” FX certificates; NBE/Banque Misr EGP CDs | Partial — embassy step for the base account, branch visit for the full product suite | EGP CDs 17.75–19.5% p.a. (Jul 2026); Belady FX certs, CBE-guaranteed repatriation | Partial |
| 2 | Nigeria | $19.8bn | UBA / Zenith / Stanbic diaspora accounts; FGN US Dollar Bond | Yes — 7 of the 12 bank programmes in this report are fully remote | FGN US Dollar Bond, 9.75% p.a., tax-exempt | Yes |
| 3 | Morocco | $12.05bn (Office des Changes: $13.38bn, 2025) | BCP, Attijariwafa, Bank of Africa, CIH “CODE 212,” SG “SoGé” | Yes — all five major MRE banks now open accounts 100% online | Treasury bonds 2.4–4.2% (2026 auctions); Casablanca Stock Exchange via OPV subscriptions | Yes |
| 4 | Kenya | $4.94bn | Stanbic, Co-op Bank, Equity, KCB, Absa | Yes for most — see Section 03 | KCB Goal Account 8.5% p.a.; Absa digital savings 9% p.a.; Treasury/infrastructure bonds, 1–30 yr | Yes |
| 5 | Ghana | $4.6bn | Fidelity Bank Ghana NRG; GCB Link2Home | Partial — see Section 05 | Fidelity FLIP account, T-bill-linked; 7-yr Treasury bond, 12.5% coupon | Partial |
| 6 | Zimbabwe | $3.08bn | CBZ & NMB Diaspora accounts | Partial — CBZ's online portal is the strongest; ZB requires notarised documents | CBZ diaspora mortgage 17% p.a.; NMB diaspora mortgage 12% p.a.; no diaspora bond currently exists | Partial |
| 7 | Senegal | $2.94bn (BCEAO: $3.69bn, 2024) | BHS “Pack Diaspora”; the 2025 Senegal Diaspora Bond | Mixed — BOA/Attijariwafa offer online opening; BHS credit needs a consular power of attorney | 2025 Diaspora Bond, 6.40–6.95% coupon across 3–10 yr tranches — 150% oversubscribed | Partial |
| 8 | Tunisia | $2.8bn | BIAT “Tounessna”; Attijari “Dima Tounsi” | Yes at 3 of the largest banks (Attijari, BIAT, Amen); STB still requires a branch visit | BIAT convertible-dinar account, TMM−2% to TMM−1% (≈5–6% nominal); Treasury bonds (BTA) averaging 9.12% (end-2025) | Partial |
| 9 | Algeria | $1.86bn | BNA “Bladi DZ” (Islamic finance, Dec 2025) | No — no bank confirmed to offer opening without a branch visit or consular step | Foreign-currency (compte devises) accounts, rate set quarterly by the Bank of Algeria and not publicly disclosed | No |
| 10 | DR Congo | $1.4bn (2020 estimate; no fresher total found) | Equity BCDC “Diaspora Account”; Rawbank “Pack Diaspora” | Partial — Equity BCDC is closest to fully online; Rawbank still needs a mailed document | Rawbank USD term deposits, 2.5–5.5% p.a.; USD Treasury bills, 8–10.5% (2026 auctions, individual eligibility unconfirmed) | Partial |
The two countries that receive the most remittances — Egypt and Morocco — also run two of the continent's most mature diaspora-investment programmes. Algeria and DR Congo, near the bottom of this top ten, run the least developed. Correlation, not proof — but striking.
Egypt
#1 · highest rates, highest riskEgypt's central bank and Ministry of Foreign Affairs opened a joint "Open Your Account in Egypt" initiative in October 2025 (Banque Misr, National Bank of Egypt) letting Egyptians abroad open a basic account at an embassy or consulate — no trip home needed for that step, though the full product range still requires an eventual branch visit. QNB Alahli's "Al Safwa" package needs only a visit to a QNB branch in the customer's country of residence. The standout diaspora product is Banque Misr's "Belady" foreign-currency certificate (USD/EUR/GBP/AUD, 1–5 year terms, minimum 100 units), which carries an explicit Central Bank of Egypt guarantee that redemption proceeds and interest can be transferred abroad without limit. Domestic EGP certificates of deposit are currently paying 17.75–19.5% p.a. (Banque Misr and NBE, July 2026 rate sheets) — but that yield mirrors Egypt's own interest-rate environment (CBE overnight rate 19–20%) after the pound lost roughly a third of its value when it was floated in March 2024, and the EGP weakened sharply again in early 2026 before partially recovering. High EGP returns and currency risk are two sides of the same coin here.
Best returnEGP CDs 17.75–19.5% p.a.; Belady FX certs (rate n.a., CBE repatriation guarantee)
Manage remotelyPartial — balances/transfers yes; certificate purchase via app inconsistent bank to bank
Morocco
Most digitally matureMorocco runs the most digitally mature diaspora banking sector found in this whole report. All five major banks — Banque Populaire (100% online since 2020), Attijariwafa Bank ("Attijarimdm"), Bank of Africa, CIH Bank ("CODE 212," launched 2024, explicitly eliminating the branch visit), and Société Générale Maroc ("SoGé") — now open MRE accounts fully online, with no notarisation or embassy step for standard accounts. Regulator Office des Changes permits diaspora members to subscribe to Moroccan Treasury bonds directly from a foreign-currency account (2.4–4.2% across 2026 auctions, minimum typically MAD 100,000), and Attijariwafa's "J'investis dans mon pays" portal lets diaspora clients subscribe to share offerings (OPV) via its Wafa Bourse brokerage arm. One asymmetry worth flagging: gains on Casablanca Stock Exchange investments are freely repatriable, but only the original principal — not the profit — can be returned to a convertible account for real-estate or private-company investments.
Best returnTreasury bonds 2.4–4.2%; OPV/CSE equities via Attijari Mobile/Wafa Bourse
Manage remotelyYes — BMCE Direct, CIH Mobile, SoGé, Attijari Mobile all confirmed
Zimbabwe
No diaspora bond, real currency riskCBZ Bank's online diaspora-account portal and NMB's fee-free, no-minimum "NostroLite" foreign-currency account are the two clearest remote-friendly options; ZB Bank's Diaspora Hub, by contrast, explicitly requires certified/notarised documents. A government diaspora bond has been discussed publicly since 2022 — and again floated in the 2026 budget — but has never actually been issued; what exists instead are bank-run diaspora mortgages (CBZ 17% p.a., NMB 12% p.a.). The harder caveat is currency history, not paperwork: the ZiG currency (launched April 2024) was devalued 43% within six months of launch, and Zimbabwe has redenominated or delegalised its currency three times since 2009. Any USD nominally "held" in a Zimbabwean account should be treated as carrying real conversion risk, not a guarantee.
Best returnCBZ mortgage 17% p.a.; NMB mortgage 12% p.a.; no active diaspora bond
Manage remotelyPartial — transfers/balances yes; fund buy/sell largely undocumented
Senegal
2025's biggest diaspora-bond success storySenegal's September 2025 sovereign "public savings" bond — opened to the diaspora for the first time alongside residents — raised over 450 billion FCFA against a 300 billion target (roughly 150% covered), with subscribers from more than 45 countries. Coupons run 6.40% (3-yr) to 6.95% (10-yr), semi-annual, from a 10,000 FCFA unit. The clearest remote access point is the Daba Finance app, which lets diaspora investors subscribe to Senegalese government bonds and BRVM-listed shares from a phone, with KYC done in-app. On the banking side, Bank of Africa and Attijariwafa/CBAO offer online-initiated diaspora accounts; Banque de l'Habitat's diaspora housing-bond financing, by contrast, requires a power of attorney legalised through a consulate. A regional regulation tightening non-resident foreign-currency account rules took effect across the CFA zone in August 2025 — a headwind worth watching, not a reason to avoid the market.
Best return2025 Diaspora Bond, 6.40–6.95% coupon, 3–10 yr
Manage remotelyPartial — bond/equities via Daba Finance app; bank servicing varies
Tunisia
Best bond yield in this sectionTunisia's "TRE" (Tunisiens Résidents à l'Étranger) framework runs across roughly 11 banks; Attijari Bank Tunisie ("Dima Tounsi") and the digital-first "AMEN First Bank" both advertise 100% online account opening in minutes, and BIAT's "Tounessna" range allows remote opening too. STB, by contrast, still requires an in-branch visit with an ID card. Tunisia's Treasury bonds (BTA, 1,000 TND minimum) carried a 9.12% average yield across all maturities at end-2025 — the highest sovereign yield found among the seven newly-researched countries in this section — though no bank page confirmed a self-service digital channel for buying them, so this likely still runs through a branch or broker. The dinar itself is a genuinely non-convertible currency: it is illegal to physically carry Tunisian dinars out of the country, and the central bank's own governor has publicly called for Tunisia to build dedicated diaspora financial products — implying none exist yet beyond the standard TRE accounts.
Best returnTreasury bonds (BTA), 9.12% average yield (end-2025)
Manage remotelyPartial — day-to-day banking yes; bond trading likely broker-mediated
Algeria
Weakest diaspora offer in this reportAlgeria is, honestly, the least developed diaspora banking market covered anywhere in this report. Only one bank — state-owned BNA, with its "Bladi DZ" Islamic-finance offer launched in December 2025 — has a distinctly named, marketed diaspora programme; every other bank (BEA, CPA, Société Générale Algérie, AGB) offers only a generic foreign-currency "compte devises" or convertible-dinar "CEDAC" account with no diaspora branding. No bank was confirmed to allow account opening without an in-person visit (in Algeria or at one of BEA's French branches) or a notarised power of attorney. Interest rates on these foreign-currency accounts are set quarterly by the Bank of Algeria and are not published anywhere we could access. The dinar's parallel-market discount against its official rate has widened to roughly 75% as of mid-2025 — a far larger gap than a decade ago — alongside an annual cash-export ceiling of €7,500 for residents. This is a market to approach with realistic expectations, not one to force into this report's usual "conducive" framing.
Best returnCompte devises rate not disclosed; no active diaspora bond found
Manage remotelyNo — apps exist but rate 2.8–3.3/5 on Google Play, basic functions only
DR Congo
Highest yields, highest riskEquity BCDC's "Diaspora Account" is the closest thing to a fully-remote product found in DRC — opened via an online portal with full mobile/internet banking from day one, and the highest-rated app in this section (4.5★, 19,300 reviews). It also carries the most serious recent red flag: a November 2025 judicial investigation was opened into the bank following customer complaints of unexplained account debits and alleged fraud. Rawbank's "Pack Diaspora" (bundled with a repatriation-insurance rider) is the more established alternative, though it requires a document mailed to Kinshasa or Rawbank's Brussels office, and Rawbank's controlling family is separately under an active 2026 corruption inquiry (no charges proven, presumption of innocence applies). On yield, DRC's USD Treasury bills paid 8–10.5% in 2026 auctions and Rawbank's own USD term deposits pay 2.5–5.5% — but whether individual diaspora investors can buy the Treasury bills directly, versus only via bank/institutional intermediation, could not be confirmed. The single largest risk in this entire report sits here: banks in Goma have been closed for over 18 months under US sanctions law following the city's capture by M23 rebels in January 2025 — a legal bar on reopening, not merely a security judgment call.
Best returnUSD T-bills 8–10.5% (2026, individual access unconfirmed); Rawbank USD deposits 2.5–5.5%
Manage remotelyPartial — Equity BCDC app strongest, but under active fraud investigation
Section 08Government Bonds You Can Buy Directly
No diaspora desk required — these are sovereign instruments you can subscribe to (with varying degrees of "remote") straight from the government's own debt office or central bank.
A Reddit user asking how to trade FGN bonds on the secondary market was told plainly it isn't really possible — "you must rely on dealers and brokers for trading... most of these sites simply allow you to place bond orders rather than execute actual trades." Primary-market access is real; active secondary-market trading, less so.
Section 09Licensed Apps for Buying Stocks Directly
If the goal is public equities rather than fixed income, these SEC- or FSCA-licensed platforms let diaspora users trade with just a national ID or BVN — no bank diaspora desk required.
| Platform | Base | Regulator | Markets | Rating | Diaspora note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trove Finance | Nigeria | SEC Nigeria via owned broker Innova Securities; SIPC-protected US leg via DriveWealth | NSE, NASDAQ, NYSE — 3,800+ securities | 4.0★ (7.29K) | "Once you have a Nigerian BVN, irrespective of where you live, you can download and trade" |
| Bamboo | Nigeria | SEC Nigeria sub-broker; NGX-registered via Lambeth Capital; Ghana via 10th Capital | US stocks, Ghana stockbroking | 3.8★ (16.4K) | Reviewers flag heavy fee-stacking on deposits/withdrawals |
| Chaka | Nigeria | SEC Nigeria-licensed digital sub-broker | 4,000–5,000+ US, Nigerian & international stocks/ETFs | 3.7★ (2.51K) | App instability and multi-day settlement reported by reviewers |
| EasyEquities | South Africa | FSCA-authorised FSP No. 22588, licensed since 2006 | Shares, bonds, money market, unit trusts, retail pensions | 3.7★ (5.9K) | Some reviewers report deposits going missing and unexplained "Thrive" programme deductions |
Trove's and Bamboo's SEC-Nigeria licensing structures, and EasyEquities' 2006 FSCA authorisation, were independently confirmed against Nairametrics, the FSCA disclosure document, and each platform's own regulatory pages during fact-checking for this report.
Section 10Full Comparison Table
| Bank / Programme | Country | Remote opening | Investment products | Min. investment | Trust score | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Stanbic / Standard Bank | KE / NG / SA | Yes — "5 min" (Kenya); "anywhere in the world" (SA) | Bonds, T-bills, MMFs, dollar funds, equities, mortgages | Ksh 1,000 / ₦0 | TP 1.8/5 (294); Play 3.2★ (17.2K) | H |
| Co-op Bank Kenya | Kenya | Yes — fully online, 5 currencies | T-bonds, T-bills, NSE shares, custody, property | KES 5,000 / USD 50 | Play 2.8★ (6K) | H |
| Equity Bank | Kenya | Yes | NSE shares, T-bills, T-bonds | n.a. | Play 4.8★ (345K) | H |
| KCB Bank | Kenya | Partial — notarisation abroad required | T-bills/bonds, deposits, Goal Account | Kes 1,000–2,000 | Play 4.4★ (37.2K) | H |
| Absa | KE / GH / SA | Yes — "minutes" | Unit trusts, digital savings, FX accounts, mortgages | KES 1,000 / USD 100 | TP 2/5 (13); Play 2.7★ (1.4K) | MH |
| UBA | Nigeria | Yes — online portal | NRNIA (FCY/LCY), pensions, real estate, wealth mgmt | No minimum | TP 1.7/5 (65); Play 4.4★ (280K) | MH |
| Access Bank | Nigeria | Partial — notarised originals couriered to Lagos | FX-to-local investment, domiciliary accounts | ₦10,000 | TP 2.4/5 (61); Play 4.7★ (741K) | MH |
| Zenith Bank | Nigeria | Yes — free BVN abroad | FCY fixed deposits, Non-Resident Investment Account, pension funds | ₦100,000+ | TP 1.9/5 (55); Play 3.9★ (49.7K) | M |
| GTBank | Nigeria | Partial — OIS/VFS visit required | Domiciliary accounts only | n.a. | TP 1.6/5 (48); Play 3.8★ (142K) | M |
| Ecobank | Pan-African | Yes — online portal | None documented | n.a. | TP 1.6/5 (46); Play 3.4★ (50.5K) | M |
| Fidelity Bank Ghana | Ghana | Partial — branch needed for cash/unit trusts | Unit trusts, T-bill-linked FLIP account | GH¢10 | Play 4.8★ (17.4K) | MH |
| GCB Bank | Ghana | Partial — initial deposit "when in Ghana" | Government bonds (general) | n.a. | Play 4.1★ (8.6K) | H |
| Nigeria FGN US Dollar Bond | Nigeria | Yes — e-portal | 5-yr USD bond, 9.75% p.a., tax-exempt | $10,000 | n.a. (sovereign) | H |
| Kenya Treasury Bonds (DhowCSD) | Kenya | Yes — web/app, offshore funds option | 1–30 yr bonds, tax-exempt infra bonds | KSh 50,000 | n.a. (M-Akiba legacy issues) | H |
| Ghana 7-yr Treasury Bond | Ghana | No — book-build via dealers only | 7-yr bond, 12.5% coupon | GHS 50,000 | n.a. | M |
H = High trust, MH = Medium-High, M = Medium, colour-coded by combined regulatory status, balance-sheet scale, and customer review evidence. Full sourcing for every cell is in the companion research file, with inline links to each institution's own pages, Trustpilot, Google Play and Reddit threads.
Section 11What This Means If You're Deciding
- Widest choice from one diaspora desk: Stanbic/Standard Bank (Kenya, Nigeria, or South Africa) and Kenya's Co-operative Bank name the broadest menus — bonds, money-market funds, equities, and FX deposits explicitly, not just "investment purpose" domiciliary accounts.
- Cheapest entry point to start investing, not just saving: Absa's unit trusts (KES 1,000/USD 100) and Fidelity Ghana's unit trusts (GH¢10) are the lowest thresholds found in this study.
- If a hard-currency (USD) return matters specifically: Nigeria's Domestic FGN US Dollar Bond is the only instrument here that pays and repays in dollars by design, at 9.75% p.a. tax-free — worth weighing against Fidelity Ghana's unit trusts, which redeem in cedis only and carry FX risk.
- To avoid notaries, couriers and embassy visits entirely: Co-operative Bank Kenya, UBA, Zenith, Ecobank, Standard Bank/Stanbic and Absa currently publish the most genuinely end-to-end online applications; KCB, GTBank, Access, GCB and Fidelity Ghana each retain at least one in-person or notarised step.
- Cross-check any bank against its own Trustpilot page before committing large sums. The gap between glossy app-store ratings and blunt Trustpilot service reviews was the most consistent finding across every Nigerian and Southern African bank studied — five minutes reading actual complaints is worth it before wiring money.
- For pure equities exposure with lighter KYC: Trove Finance and EasyEquities are properly licensed (SEC Nigeria / FSCA South Africa respectively) and let you invest with just a national ID or BVN, regardless of where you currently live.
- Looking beyond Kenya, Nigeria and Ghana: Morocco currently runs the most digitally mature diaspora banking sector on the continent (all five major banks open accounts 100% online); Senegal's 2025 diaspora bond and Tunisia's Treasury bonds offer the strongest sourced yields among the newly-researched countries; and Algeria and DR Congo remain the two hardest markets in this report to invest in remotely — see Section 07 for the full country-by-country breakdown.
Section 12Sources & Disclaimer
Primary sources consulted: each bank's own diaspora-banking and investment pages (Equity, Co-operative Bank, KCB, Absa, Stanbic/Standard Bank, UBA, Zenith, Access, GTBank, Ecobank, Fidelity Bank Ghana, GCB Bank, Banque Misr, National Bank of Egypt, QNB Alahli, Banque Populaire, Attijariwafa Bank, Bank of Africa, CIH Bank, Société Générale Maroc, CBZ Bank, NMB Bank Zimbabwe, ZB Bank, Banque de l'Habitat du Sénégal, BOA Sénégal, CBAO, BIAT, Attijari Bank Tunisie, STB, BNA, Rawbank, Equity BCDC); Nigeria's Debt Management Office (Domestic FGN US Dollar Bond and FGN Savings Bond FAQs/offer circulars); the Central Bank of Kenya (Treasury Bonds, DhowCSD) and CDSC (M-Akiba notice); Ghana's Ministry of Finance (April 2026 bond issuance announcement) and the Ghana Stock Exchange; the Central Bank of Egypt, Bank Al-Maghrib and Morocco's Office des Changes, the Reserve Bank of Zimbabwe, BCEAO and UMOA-Titres, the Central Bank of Tunisia, the Bank of Algeria, the Banque Centrale du Congo and DRC's Ministry of Finance; each platform's SEC/FSCA licensing disclosures (Trove, Bamboo, Chaka, EasyEquities); Trustpilot and Google Play listings for every rated institution, dated at time of research; and press coverage including Nairametrics, Ghana News Agency, GhanaWeb, Trading Room Africa, Daily News Egypt, EnterpriseAM, Morocco World News, Financial Afrik, Zoom Eco, TSA-Algérie and Al Jazeera.
Verification approach: beyond the exhaustive per-claim sourcing in the underlying research, we independently re-checked a sample of the highest-stakes claims — the Trove/Innova Securities and Bamboo SEC-Nigeria licensing chain, EasyEquities' FSCA authorisation (FSP 22588), KCB Group's FY2025 results, and the Domestic FGN US Dollar Bond's terms — against current bank, regulator and press sources, and re-derived Chart 1's category counts directly from each bank's documented product list rather than reusing an earlier chart's figures. For the seven newly-added countries (Egypt, Morocco, Zimbabwe, Senegal, Tunisia, Algeria, DR Congo), every claim was researched directly against bank, central-bank and press sources rather than transcribed from a single document, and figures that could not be confirmed from an accessible primary source are marked accordingly rather than estimated — for example, current Bank of Algeria foreign-currency deposit rates and DRC Treasury-bill diaspora eligibility could not be confirmed and are flagged as open questions rather than stated as fact.
Disclaimer: this report is research and analysis only, not personalised financial advice. Fees, rates, minimums and regulatory status change; verify current terms directly with each institution before investing, and consult a qualified financial adviser for decisions involving cross-border tax and currency exposure.
The diaspora helps the diaspora.
Africa Global Forum is a peer network for Africans abroad — help each other, sit together, and bounce ideas. The research above is part of an open library. The Forum itself is by application.